departmetnt of history


A Brief Profile of the Department

The Department of History was established since the inception of the college, in the year, 1984. The department was established with two faculty members, namely, Ms. Phioshua Kharkongor and Ms N. Hazarika. Brother D. Souza rendered his voluntary service towards the department for a short period of time.

Ms. Phioshua Kharkongor, M.A., M. Phil., Currently Head, Department of History, has been serving this college as a Lecturer in this department, since May, 1987. She has specialization in Modern Indian History. She has been an active member of different committees of the college.

Ms. Ameeta Roy, M.A., M.Phil., has been serving as Lecturer in the Department of History, since February, 1988. Specialized in Modern Indian History, Ms. Roy takes interest in numerous activities of the college. She has specialization in music.

Ms. Angira Kar, M.A., M. Phil., joined the college as a Lecturer in History, in June, 2000. Prior to joining this college, she was teaching history at Don Bosco College, Tura. At present she is pursuing her Ph. D. degree in NEHU. She is specialized in Modern Indian History. An active teacher, she is involved with various activities of the college.

Dr. (Ms.) Jayati Bhattacharjee, M.A., Ph.D., joined the Department of History in July, 2002. Specialised in Ancient Indian History, she has also been contributing to various academic and co-curricular activities of the college. Dr. Bhattacharjee has published one book and some research papers in academic journals as well as in edited volumes.