departmetnt of political science


A Brief Profile of the Department

The Department of Political Science was established in the year, 1984 with Prof B. Datta Ray, founder principal of the college, as its head and a few other teachers offering their voluntary service. The Department has come a long way in achieving its goal of imparting quality education to students.

Ms. Ruma Das, M.A., M.Phil., joined the college in this department, in March, 1990. She has completed an ICSSR sponsored research project. At present she is the head of the department. She is an active member of different important committees of the college and has been contributing her service to the college.

Ms. Rose Mary Debbarma, M.A., has been serving this college as Lecturer in the Department of Political Science, since June, 1997. She has completed two research projects, one under Amiyo Kumar Das Research Institute, while the other under the sponsorship of ICSSR, Shillong. At present she is the Vice-Principal of this college.

Mr. Vareipam Muivah, M.A., UGC NET, joined this department, in July, 2001, as a Lecturer. He is a guest faculty in the Meghalaya Administrative Training Institute at Shillong. He is also a guest faculty in All India Civil Service Pre-exam Training Institute, Shillong. An active teacher, he is involved with various activities of the college.

Mr. Elim Hmar, M.A., joined the department as a faculty member in June, 2011. Apart from teaching his subject, Mr. Hmar takes particular interest in computer aided teaching. Besides, he takes participation in various activities of the college.